Day one was an amazing and busy day.  Seeing friends, meeting twitter friends in person, and meeting new friends.  I was nervous and excited about this conference.  Turns out that my nervousness was unfounded.

The first workshop I attended was the RT Virgins 101.  Great class! In an hour they quickly told us what we needed to know about the conference.  In general what the dress code for things were, etiquette for approaching published authors for autographs, and other important information.  We received a button that says “Recent Graduate RT Virgin 101”.  That first day, I don’t know how many times I was greeted with “Welcome Virgin.”  Only at a Romance convention would you be greeted by such a phrase.

My next class was the Steam and Other Punks class.  Holy steam powered gadgets, Batman! I didn’t realize there were so many sub-genres that sprung out of Steam Punk.  There are some of those genres that I feel I could easily do a story for.  Actually, since the class my little brain has been working on a Bio-Punk (HG Wells’ The Island of Dr. Moreau is a type of Bio-Punk).  I’m greatful to the panelists for giving us a list of the different types.

Left to right: Suzanne Lazear, P.G. Forte, Eden Bradley, R.G. Alexander

BTW, if you need to know ANY thing about Steam and the other punks, talk to Suzanne Lazear! She is highly knowledgeable about it.

Next it was time for the Western Roundup!  It was time for the cowboys and they provided us with two very beautiful ones.

Left to right: Len, me, and Scott

Len's current cover for Emma Lang. He is so yummy as a cowboy!

The wonderful Lorelei James and I

After visiting with everyone at the Western Roundup, I went to the Love, Monsters & Mythology with Zoë Archer, Jackie Barbosa, Stephanie Draven, and Leanna Renee Hieber as the panelists. I also attended the Ins and Outs of Sexual Tension with Fiona Jayde, Julie James, Beth Kery, and Hunter Raines. Both were fun classes with great panelists.  Leanna Renee Hieber is a hoot!

I went to the Foxy Dames Speakeasy social, but I was too late for books and swag.  After dinner at the hotel’s buffet, I went to Joyee & Gabrielle’s Big Adventure Social. At that party I got my favorite non-book or trading card swag, the Pecker Checker!  A tape measure on a key chain that goes up to 3 feet 3 inches (that’s one big pecker). I still giggle  every time I look at the thing!

The Pecker Checker

Next was the Ellora’s CaveHip Hop Dance Party. They went all out on the swag for this party! Even 2 days later it shocks me.  We got jogging pants with embroidery on them, a t-shirt, a hat, a calender, deck of cards, and other things. The Step Dancing was also pretty cool.

Ellora's Cave Swag

I left that party early and went upstairs to our room.  My bed was littered with all of my swag and books from the day.

My large swag pile from Day 1!

For the final thing of the night, I went to the YA Slumber Party.  There was candy, soda, chips, cookies, games, and giveaways.

YA Slumber Party Authors from Suzanne Lazear's Twitter feed

There were temporary tattoos and nail polish. I’ve always wanted a tattoo.

Temporary Tattoo on my foot.

I won a new book at the party.  I saw this one at Walmart or something and really wanted to read it.  Now I have a signed copy!

Cover image of the book I won.

I finally crashed around 3 or 4 am.  It was a long day but well worth the lack of sleep!!  Day 2 recap coming soon. 🙂