Sometimes my writing surprises me when I go back and read it many months later. This story is almost exactly what happened that last morning of High School. (My daddy didn’t have tears in his eyes.) Writers get their inspiration from everywhere.

Original Post: 14 June 2011

Prompt: High School

My last day of high school was bittersweet. I had been going to school with most of my classmates since Kindergarten. It will be strange not see those people everyday any more.

My dad took me to school for my last day, just like he took me to school for my first day of Kindergarten. And just like 13 years before, he had me pose in front of the building for a picture. He reached over and gave me a hug.

“I can’t believe this day has arrived. I want you to know that I’m proud of you.” He tightened his arms around me briefly before pulling away. He had tears in his eyes, just like I did. “You better get in there and turn in that paper for your English class.”

I turned and quickly fled in to the building. Straight in to the arms of my best friend, Tony.

“Hey, what’s this all about?” Tony asked.

“Everything is changing, and I’m not ready for it.” I said against his chest.

“It’s the way of life, babe. You know that.” He took a step back and looked down at me. “But no matter what, we will always be best friends.”

