Original Post: 26 April 2011

Prompt: Blue

She just stared at him with her piercing blue eyes. He tried not to squirm under her scrutiny.

“Mandy, I’m sorry. I didn’t mean for them to find out.” Travis told her quietly.

“But they did, and now everyone is staring at me!” She bit out. “How am I ever to show my face in this town again?”

“You are strong and you will figure it out.”

“That’s easy for you to say. You are a guy and you aren’t held to the same antiquated standards that a woman is in this backwards small town.” Mandy ran her hand through her hair. “Not only do they think I’m a witch, now they think I’m a hussy.”

Travis started walking toward her. He wanted to comfort her and assure her that everything would be okay. As he got close, she put both hands on his chest as if to keep him away. He ignored her and gathered her in to his embrace.

“They don’t think you are a hussy. It will just take them a little while to realize that bad things happen to good people.” Travis said as he laid his cheek on the top of her head.

