Another Finalist for me. 🙂

Original Post: 9 August 2011

Prompt: You must begin your entry with the following sentence from A Line in the Ice: “You point it at a group of people and it’ll obliterate everything in its path.”

“You point it at a group of people and it’ll obliterate everything in its path.” Diego explained.

“I thought it was illegal to handle and use those weapons, so how do you know?” Thomas asked as he eyed the small ball resting in Diego’s hand. The ball reminded Thomas of the Thermal Detonator that the Bounty Hunter threatened Jabba The Hutt with in Return of The Jedi.

“I found my grandfather’s diary talking about it.”

“And what did he call it in his diary? Little Ball of Boom?”

“No, dumb shit. He called it the most destructive weapon our species has ever seen.” Diego carefully put the ball back in to it’s velvet lined case. “Can you imagine what that weapon did to soldiers during the Civil War?”

“Yes, I can. It obliterated them. Which is why we have the monument of missing soldiers.” Thomas was grateful that Diego was no longer holding the weapon. “I want to know is how that technology was developed during a time when no one had electricity.”

“I didn’t read all of my grandfather’s journal. Maybe there is some clues in that about how this weapon ended up buried at a Civil War battle site.” Diego closed the box and carefully locked it. “Let’s go inside and read that journal.”

Thomas reluctantly followed Diego in to the house. Unsure if he wanted to know the answer.

