Today is day 14 of the 30 day challenge to write 50,000 words.  So far I am at 14,324 words.  By midnight I should be at 23,334 words but that isn’t going to happen today.  Tomorrow will need to be another Kill Words day. I had one yesterday and managed get to 4015 words written.  I’m not panicking yet about my being behind, I still have plenty of time. I am actually very proud of how I am doing.  Last year I wrote just over 4600 words for the entire month.

This year I have more motivation to finish, plus a lot of support. My Dark Hunter friends, friends on Twitter (especially Laura Kreitzer), and of course my darling husband. It has been an interesting process. I have learned some very valuable things doing this.

1. No matter what, you must write some every day. Even if you don’t “feel” it or just not mentally focused. I have found that after the first 400 or so words are written, things start to flow a little easier. You just have to stick to it.

2. Set reasonable word count goals every day. NaNoWriMo sets the daily goal of 1667 words per day. But as everyone knows, life gets in the way. So don’t stress that you didn’t get your words done, just plan on doing more over the next few days.

3. Make sure EVERYONE knows your goals and how you are progressing. I have found that there are a lot of people out there who are wanting to know how I’m doing on my word counts. By posting it on Facebook and Twitter, more people are witnessing my progress. This provides more motivation to meet my month end goal.

4. Don’t over analyze your writing this point. That is what December is for. Just write, write, write. December is edit, and rewrite month.

Thank you everyone for your support!!!! As a special treat, I’m going to give you a snippet of my work in progress.

 

Quinn reached over and pulled her in to his embrace, tucking her head under his chin. He just held her close for a few minutes. Tori didn’t want to move away. She loved how he would hold her as if she was precious to him.

“Tori, are you in here?” A young female voice said from the arena. Tori sighed and pulled away from Quinn.

“Kelly, I’m in the main barn.” Tori called back. A young brunette came out of the arena toward them, she was dressed much like Tori in a jeans and tank, her scuffed boots peeking out from the hem of her jeans.

“Sorry, I’m late. Had to take my brother to mom’s work before heading out here.” Kelly looked at Quinn and Tori. Quinn still had a hand resting on Tori’s lower back. Kelly eyed the handsome cowboy before reaching out her hand. “Hi, I’m Kelly. I work afternoons with Tori a few days a week.” Quinn smiled and gently clasped her hand.

“Hi, I’m Quinn. I’m an old friend of Tori. I’m visiting for a while and will be helping out until Tori gets some new barn hands.” Quinn looked down at Tori. “I’ll go get started on the lower barn.” Quinn walked away from the two women, whistling under his breath.

“Holy cow, Tori, he is handsome.” Kelly gushed. “I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything that handsome.”

“Who is handsome?” Shelby said as she came walking in to the barn.

“She is gushing over your brother.” Tori said with a smile as she turned toward her friend.

“That handsome guy is Miss Shelby’s brother?” Kelly asked in disbelief. Tori and Shelby laughed.

“Yes, that no good, handsome cowboy is my older brother.” Shelby answered. “He is in town at least until the Hometown Days rodeo.”

“Did he bring any other that look like him?”

“Kelly! Quinn is easily fourteen years older than you.” Tori stated in shock. “Technically he could have fathered you!” Shelby started laughing when Kelly blushed.

“Sorry, Tori, but the guys in the High School don’t look that good.”

 

